Book Exhibition XIII

“It Was The Best of Times, It Was The Worst Of Times” - 150th Anniversary of the Death of Greatest Writer Charles Dickens

09/06/2020 - 08/10/2020
Library, 2nd Floor, Wui Chi Building, MPI

It was the best of times,
it was the worst of times,
it was the age of wisdom,
it was the age of foolishness,
it was the epoch of belief,
it was the epoch of incredulity,
it was the season of Light,
it was the season of Darkness,
it was the spring of hope,
it was the winter of despair,

You should recognize the opening paragraph from A Tale of Two Cities by the immortal Charles Dickens. Charles Dickens (in full Charles John Huffam Dickens) is considered to be the greatest novelist of 19th century English literature and one of the most important writers of the Victorian Era.

Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was born in Landport, Portsmouth, on February 7, 1812. Charles was the second in a family of eight children. His father John Dickens (1786–1851) was a clerk in the Navy Pay Office. The Dickens family moved to London in 1814 and two years later to Chatham, Kent, where Charles spent early years of his childhood. Due to the financial difficulties they moved back to London in 1822, where they settled in Camden Town, a poor neighborhood of London. In 1824 the family reached bottom. Charles, the eldest son, had been withdrawn from school and was sent to work in Warren's blacking factory and endured appalling conditions as well as loneliness and despair. After three years he was returned to school, but the experience was never forgotten and became fictionalised in two of his better-known novels 'David Copperfield' and 'Great Expectations'.

Like many others, Dickens began his literary career as a journalist. In 1833, he began submitting sketches to various magazines and newspapers under the pseudonym “Boz.” In 1836, his clippings were published in his first book ‘Sketches by Boz’. In April 1836, he married Catherine Hogarth who edited ‘Sketches by Boz’. Within the same month came the publication of the highly successful ‘The Pickwick Papers’, and from that point on there was no looking back for Dickens. He published 15 such beloved classic novels as Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, Nicholas Nickleby, Bleak House, A Tale of Two Cities and Great Expectations.

Dickens died at age 58 on June 9, 1870, at Gad’s Hill Place, his country home in Kent, England. He was buried in Poet’s Corner at Westminster Abbey (figure 1), and bestowed with the epitaph: “He was a sympathiser with the poor, the suffering, and the oppressed; and by his death, one of England’s greatest writers is lost to the world.” At the time of his death, his final novel, ‘The Mystery of Edwin Drood’ was unfinished.

Figure 1: The Grave of Charles Dickens in Poets' Corner, Westminster Abbey." Illustrated London News, 25 June 1870, p. 652. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Figure 1: "The Grave of Charles Dickens in Poets' Corner, Westminster Abbey." Illustrated London News, 25 June 1870, p. 652. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003.

 

Charles Dickens, a great English writer after Shakespeare, is the most achieved representative of the English critical realism literature of the 19th century. His works vividly reproduce the social conditions of Victorian England. Dickens’s work transcends his time, language and culture. He remains a massive contemporary influence throughout the world and his writings continue to inspire film, TV, art, literature, artists and academia. Over a hundred years later Dickens’s works are still being filmed for cinema and TV and every one of his 15 novels has been filmed at least twice. Charles Dickens public readings were hugely popular and are still widely read today. His literary works are not only proclaimed in Britain until today, but also are the most precious heritage of people who love reading in the world. This book exhibition commemorates the 150th anniversary of the novelist’s passing in 1870.

Further Reading

Try searching the following Library subscribed databases with the keyword "Charles Dickens". You will discover more related materials, such as archived News, images, audiobooks and more...

And much more free resources are available online...

Workflow: 
Published

圖書館主題書展 XIII

這是最好的時代,也是最壞的時代 - 永遠的英國大文豪狄更斯逝世150週年紀念

09/06/2020 - 08/10/2020
澳門理工學院匯智樓二樓圖書館

這是最好的時代,
這是最壞的時代,
這是睿智的年月,
這是蒙昧的年月,
這是信仰的時期,
這是懷疑的時期,
這是光明的季節,
這是黑暗的季節,
那是充滿希望的春天,
那是令人絕望的冬天,

你一定聽過,這段狄更斯(1812-1870)不朽經典《雙城記》(A Tale of Two Cities )的開篇語。狄更斯是英國十九世紀著名小說家,公認是英國維多利亞時期最偉大的作家。

狄更斯(英文原名:Charles John Huffam Dickens)1812年2月7日出生於樸次茅斯(Portsmouth)市郊一個海軍小職員家庭,是家裏八個孩子中排第二。狄更斯一家於1814年搬到倫敦,兩年後搬到肯特郡(Kent)的查塔姆(Chatham),狄更斯在那裡渡過童年。由於經濟困難,狄更斯一家於1822年搬回倫敦,在倫敦貧民區康登鎮(Camden Town)定居。1824年狄更斯的家境壞到極點,他的父親因欠債入獄,身為長子的他被迫輟學。為了維持生計,狄更斯在一家皮鞋油作坊當學徒,忍受著駭人聽聞的環境以及孤獨和絕望。三年後,他回到了學校,但這段經歷從未被遺忘,促使他創作了半自傳體小說《塊肉餘生記》(David Copperfield),又譯《大衛•科波菲爾》和長篇小說《遠大前程》(Great Expectations)又譯《孤星血淚》兩部著名小說。

像許多人一樣狄更斯也是以記者的身份開始他的文學生涯。1833年,他用筆名 “Boz” 開始為雜誌和報紙撰寫札記。並於1836年,匯編成他的第一本書《博兹札记》(Sketches by Boz)。同年4月他與《博兹札记》(Sketches by Boz)的編輯凱薩琳•賀加斯(Catherine Hogarth)結婚,同月出版《匹克威克外傳》(The Pickwick Papers)獲得了空前的成功,從那時開始狄更斯一直持續寫作,創作出如﹕《霧都孤兒》(Oliver Twist)、《聖誕頌歌》(A Christmas Carol)、《尼古拉斯•尼克貝》(Nicholas Nickleby)、《荒涼山莊》(Bleak House)、《雙城記》(A Tale of Two Cities)和《遠大前程》(Great Expectations)等15部經典小說。

1870年6月9日狄更斯於英格蘭肯特郡(Kent)的鄉間別墅Gad's Hill Place去世,終年58歲。他去世後被安葬在西敏寺的詩人角(圖1),他的墓碑上寫道:「他是貧窮、受苦與被壓迫人民的同情者;他的去世令世界失去了一位偉大的英國作家。」 在他去世時,他的最後一部小說《艾德溫德魯德之謎》(The  Mystery  of  Edwin  Drood)仍尚未完成。

Figure 1: The Grave of Charles Dickens in Poets' Corner, Westminster Abbey." Illustrated London News, 25 June 1870, p. 652. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Figure 1: "The Grave of Charles Dickens in Poets' Corner, Westminster Abbey." Illustrated London News, 25 June 1870, p. 652. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003.

 

狄更斯是繼莎士比亞之後對世界文學產生巨大影響的英國小說家,狄更斯特別注意描寫生活在英國社會底層的「小人物」的生活遭遇,深刻地反映了當時英國複雜的社會現實,為英國批判現實主義文學的開拓和發展做出了卓越的貢獻。狄更斯的作品超越了時間、語言和文化。他在全世界仍具有巨大的當代影響力,他的著作繼續啟發電影、電視、藝術、文學、藝術家和學術界。一百多年後,狄更斯的作品仍被大量改編拍攝為電影和電視劇,他的15本小說中的每一部都已經至少被拍攝兩次。狄更斯的文學作品不僅在英國傳頌至今,更是屬於全世界喜好閱讀的人們最珍貴的遺產。為記念這位偉大作家逝世150週年,圖書館展出相關館藏,與讀者一同重温他的傳世經典。

延伸閱讀

試試以"Charles Dickens"查找下列圖書館訂閱的電子資料庫,你可發現更多相關的資源,如新聞存檔、圖片、有聲書等...

此外,網上還有更多的免費資源可供閱讀...

Workflow: 
Published